
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Application for Consumer Fireworks Facility 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PA Department of Agriculture 
Attn: Fireworks 
2301 North Cameron Street  
Harrisburg, PA, 17110 
Phone: (717) 787-9089 Fax: (717) 783-4158 
E-mail: RA-wghts&measures@pa.gov  

mailto:RA-wghts&measures@pa.gov


Important Information 
 

 Licensees will meet all the requirements of Pennsylvania’s Act 74 of 2022. 
 

 Applications should be submitted at least 30 days prior to the planned start of operations. 
 

 A separate application is required for each location in which consumer fireworks are sold. 
 

 You must be in possession of the issued license before commencing operations. 
 

 The Department has 30 days to inspect your facility upon receipt of a complete application. 
 

 Incomplete applications may delay the processing of the application. 
 

 Lapse of liability insurance during the licensing period is cause for punitive action, which may include, 
but is not limited to, immediate denial, suspension or revocation of the issued license. 

 
 All property owners/landlords must authorize the use of the property for the sale and storage of consumer 

fireworks. 
 

 The Department will notify applicants in writing if the application is denied and the reason for denial. 
 

 Non-compliance with NFPA 1124 (2006 edition) is cause for punitive action, which may include, but is not limited to, 
immediate denial, suspension or revocation of the issued license. 

 
 As the licensing authority, the Department may request additional information and/or access to and copies of 

records that are reasonably necessary to determine whether the applicant or licensee is in compliance with the 
law and the conditions of licensure.   

 
 Conviction of a felony criminal offense is grounds for immediate denial or revocation of a license. 

Required Fees 
 

 A non-refundable, $2,500.00 initial application fee; 

 A non-refundable, annual license fee based on total facility square footage (all floors) as follows: 

• Up to 10,000 square feet - $7,500.00 fee 

• Greater than 10,000 and up to 15,000 square feet - $10,000.00 fee 

• Greater than 15,000 square feet - $20,000.00 fee 

 

Please make all fees payable by Certified Check or Money Order only to the “Commonwealth of PA”. 
The agency does not accept cash, debit, or credit cards. 



Instructions 

 Please complete the application legibly by printing your answers in blue or black ink or by completing your 
application using a computer. 

 
 A completed submission packet must include: 

 
1. A valid Certificate of Occupancy issued by a licensed Building Code Official (BCO). The Certification of 

Occupancy will: 
• Be legibly signed and dated by a BCO; 
• Include language that the building complies with the Pennsylvania Construction Code Act of 1999 or its 

successor; 
• Clearly indicate the issuing authority, the complete building address, and the building owner (If the 

applicant is not the owner, then a lease agreement is required to be submitted in addition to the 
Certificate of Occupancy);  

• Verify the building is being used for the exclusive sale and storage of fireworks. 
2. All required fees. 
3. A copy of your current Public Liability and Product Liability insurance certificate as follows: 

• A minimum  of $2,000,000.00 for both product and public liability is required for each location; 
• The Department will be named as a certificate holder; 
• The applicant/licensee will ensure the Department receives a conforming certificate of insurance directly 

from the agent/company; 
• The applicant/licensee and the licensed location will be clearly named on the certificate.  

4. A completed application. 
5. A completed affidavit. 
6. Property owner’s or landlord’s signature authorizing consumer fireworks to be sold on their property. 
7. Proof of training. 
8. The corporate resolution or partnership agreement if signing as either type. 
9. GPS location of the facility for which coordinates must be in NAD83 format. To obtain the NDA83 format, you 

may visit any website that will convert Longitude and Latitude components into the proper format. Example 
website: www.apsalin.com/nad-conversion.aspx 

10. A Google Maps or similar style site plan showing the facility’s location and noting separation distances from: 
• Other licensed fireworks facilities with a minimum distance of 1,500 feet, if initially licensed before 

September 9, 2022; 
• Other licensed fireworks facilities with a minimum distance of 2,500 feet, if initially licensed on or after 

September 9, 2022. This includes existing facilities who fail to remain continuously licensed on or after 
September 9, 2022;  

• Locations selling or dispensing gasoline, propane or other flammable products with a minimum distance 
of 250 feet, if initially licensed before September 9, 2022; 

• Locations selling or dispensing gasoline, propane or other flammable products with a minimum distance 
of 300 feet, if initially licensed on or after September 9, 2022. This includes existing facilities who fail to 
remain continuously licensed on or after September 9, 2022. 

11. Proof of a currently monitored burglar and fire alarm system for the facility. 
12. A detailed sales floor layout noting exits and the facility’s sales and storage area(s). 

Any license that lapses for more than 30 calendar days in a row, regardless of their application status, is no longer 
considered continuously licensed by the Department and ineligible for automatic renewal. 

http://www.apsalin.com/nad-conversion.aspx


 
 

Application for a Consumer Fireworks Facility License 
 

Check One:     � New                    � Renewal   
Check One:     � A Natural Person  � Corporation  � Partnership  � Other  

Business Name (print) 

Mailing Address  

City State ZIP 

Phone Number FAX Number 

E-Mail & Website  
Physical Address of Facility 
(if different from above)                                                                           County 

City State ZIP 
 
Type of Operation  Year-Round    Seasonal Opening Date:          Closing Date:                          

24/7 Contact Name Phone Number 

FAX Number E-Mail Address 
Please print the requested information for all individuals with any ownership interest (include 
partnerships, associations, corporations, etc.). If more space is needed please attach a blank sheet. 
Name Title 
Address 
City State ZIP 
Date of Birth Maiden Name/Alias: 
Has the above person ever been convicted of a felony?       �Yes       �No 
Name Title 
Address 
City State ZIP 
Date of Birth Maiden Name/Alias: 
Has the above person ever been convicted of a felony?       �Yes       �No 
Name Title 
Address 
City State ZIP 
Date of Birth Maiden Name/Alias: 
Has the above person ever been convicted of a felony?       �Yes       �No 

 
 
 



 
 

Application for a Consumer Fireworks Facility License 
 

Acknowledgements 
 

  INITIALS The facility is a stand-alone building dedicated exclusively to the storage and sale of consumer grade 
fireworks and related items. 
 

  INITIALS Storage areas in the facility are separated from the sales area(s) to which a person may be admitted by 
appropriately rated fire separation. 
 

  INITIALS The facility conducts quarterly fire drills as required by the primary fire department. 
 

  INITIALS While the license is in effect, the facility shall, at a minimum, have security personnel on the premises for 
the seven (7) days preceding and including July 4 and on December 31. 

 
  INITIALS No smoking is permitted in the facility. 

 
  INITIALS No cigarettes or tobacco products, matches, lighters, or any other flame-producing devices are permitted 

to be taken into the facility. 
 

  INITIALS No minors are permitted in the facility unless accompanied by an adult.  If a minor is admitted in the 
company of an adult, the minor is always required to stay with the adult  while in the facility. 

 
  INITIALS No display grade fireworks (1.3g) are stored or located at the facility. 

 
  INITIALS No person who appears to be under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs shall be admitted to the 

facility.  
 

  INITIALS No liquor, beer, or wine are permitted in the facility. 
 

  INITIALS No display fireworks shall be ignited within three hundred (300) feet of the facility. 
 

  INITIALS Emergency evacuation plans are conspicuously posted in appropriate locations within the Facility. 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 



 

Affidavit for PERMANENT 
Consumer Fireworks 
Facility License 
(Licenses are Non-Transferable) 

  Be sure that all sections of this application are completed legibly and in print. 
 

If this application is being made by a corporation (Inc.), Limited Liability  Company (LLC), or Partnership you must 
include the articles of incorporation, agreement or resolution detailing ownership and signature authority. 

Name of Signature Authority    

Title of Signature Authority  

 
 

ATTESTATION 

I hereby declare subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S.A. § 4904, relating to unsworn falsification to authorities, that 
the application and statements made herein are true and correct based upon my personal knowledge, information 
and belief. I am aware that any false statements or information provided in this application may result in the 
revocation of my existing license or denial of my application and may subject me to criminal proceedings in 
accordance with Pennsylvania’s Act 74 of 2022. Additionally, I am aware that I must comply with all procedures 
and requirements in accordance with Act 74 & NFPA 1124 and that my failure to do so may result in punitive action 
up to and including revocation of licensure. 
Applicant Name  Phone number  

Signature   Date  

Property Owner/Landlord(s) Authorization for the Facility 

Printed Name   Phone number  

Signature  Date  

 

 

A non-refundable, $2,500.00 fee for an initial application; 

A non-refundable, annual license fee, based on total facility square footage (all floors) as follows: 

 Up to 10,000 square feet - $7,500.00 fee 
 Greater than 10,000 and up to 15,000 square feet - $10,000.00 fee 
 Greater than 15,000 square feet - $20,000.00 fee 

 
TOTAL: _______________ 

Please make all fees payable by Certified Check or Money Order only to the “Commonwealth of PA”. 

The agency does not accept cash, debit, or credit cards. 
 
 

Office Use Only 

FEE CALCULATION: 

 



 
Notice from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue 

Beginning December 2022 
 

Existing and new fireworks facility licensees can sign up and file for the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue’s ‘myPATH’, 
Pennsylvania Tax Hub at: https://mypath.pa.gov/_/  
 
For Information about myPATH (prior to December 2022): https://www.revenue.pa.gov/OnlineServices/mypath/Pages/default.aspx 
 
Taxpayers can sign up and receive updates and information regarding the transition to myPATH: www.revenue.pa.gov>Home 
page > scroll to bottom PA TAX UPDATE> Sign up/Register now 
 
 
 
 

https://mypath.pa.gov/_/
https://www.revenue.pa.gov/OnlineServices/mypath/Pages/default.aspx
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